Comments (0)
News |  11 Apr 2016 18:05 |  By RnMTeam

Pt Ajoy Chakrabarty feted with Master Deenanath Mangeshkar Paritoshik 2016


MUMBAI: Hindustani classical vocalist, composer and  lyricist Pandit Ajoy Chakrabarty will be honoured with this year's Deenanath Mangeshkar Paritoshik for this lifelong work in the field of music.

Master Deenanath Mangeshkar Smruti Pratishthan which institutuesawardsin memory of late singer, musician, stage artiste and father of legendary singers Lata Mangeshkar and Asha Bhosle will be held on 23 and 24 April 2016. The awards have been instituted since 1989 and are held on 24 April every year, Deenanath's death anniversary. The Pratisthan felicitates legendary musicians, dramatists/dramas, artistes, and social workers by presenting the Deenanath Award with a memento and cash prize of 1,01,001 rupees.

This year the awards will honour the following recipients:

Master Deenanath Mangeshkar Paritoshik Award to Shri. Ajoy Chakrabarty to recognise his work in the field of Music.

Mohan Wagh Paritoshik Award to Mishri Theaters and Atharva theaters Productions' '2 Special' for Best Drama of the year.

Anadmayee Paritoshik Award to Shankarbaba Papalkar,  secretary, Gopal Shikshan Sansthan, Paratwada for her contribution in the field of social service.

Master Deenanath Mangeshkar (Vishesh Paritoshik) Award to Prashant Damle for his contribution to Marathi theater and cinema.  

Vagvilasini Paritoshik Award to Arun Sadhu in the field of literature.

Master Deenanath Paritoshik Award to Dileep Padgaonkar in the field of Editorial.

Master Deenanath Mangeshkar Award to Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Best Director in Indian Cinema.

Master Deenanath Mangeshkar (Vishesh Paritoshik) Award to Jitendra for his work in Indian theater and cinema.

Master Deenanath Mangeshkar Ranveer Singh for his work in Indian theatre and cinema.

The award function will begin with a concert on 23 April that will witness performances by singers Kavita Krishnamurthy, Himesh Reshammiya, Javed Ali, Mohit Chauhan, Ankit Tiwari, Bela Shende, Shruti Pathak and Tulsi Kumar.

24 April will witness a semi-classical musical programme with performances by Pt Hariharan, Rashid Khan, Kaushiki Chakraborty,  Rakesh Chaurasia and Pandit Vijay Ghate.  The felicitation of the awards will take place on this day.

This year, the awards will be given away by Asha Bhosle instead of Lata Mangeshkar, who does the honours each year.

Confirming the same at a press conference held at their residence Prabhu Kunj in Mumbai on Saturday,  Asha Bhosle said, "There is a lot of emotional attachment with this award as my father's name is attached to it and I am really happy to have got this opportunity."

In the last five years, the Master Deenanath Award in the field of music has honoured the following artiste.

2011-Ustad Ghulam Mustafa Khan
2012-Shri. Kumar Bose
2013-Shri.Suresh Wadkar
2014-Shri. Pandharinath Kholhapure/ Ustad Zakir Hussain
2015-Shri Suresh Talwalkar