Comments (0)
News |  29 Sep 2023 17:49 |  By RnMTeam

DEORBIT paints a surreal picture of the world in ‘Stratolith’ new album ‘Retrogradient’

MUMBAI: Milwaukee, WI, USA’s Deorbit is an innovative musical project coming from longtime friends James Becker (bass, cello), Jerry Hauppa (guitar, hammered dulcimer, hurdy-gurdy, synth, violin), and Antonio Ninham (drums). They are eager to release their debut instrumental album “Retrogradient” on November 10, 2023, which will have listeners careening through time, the earth, and an enigmatic soundscape of progressive and heavy riffs. The first look at this mind-expanding album is the single "Stratolith", which the band describes as “a surreal imagining of the vastness of the sky being replaced with the boundaries of stone”.

Each track on "Retrogradient" is an artistic depiction of surreal aspects, aiming to merge the cold, expansive nature of the universe with the warmth of human understanding. Without the use of lyrics, Deorbit's music tells a unique story within each composition, allowing listeners the freedom to interpret the profound concepts presented.

The core of "Retrogradient" was crafted during a pivotal moment in time, just before the onset of the COVID-19 restrictions in 2020. The uncertainty of the future prompted Deorbit to preserve their musical ideas as rough drafts on a computer, ensuring that their creative vision would be preserved. The album sets out to explore the dual themes of the vastness of the universe and the limitations of the human experience, all while emphasizing the intricate relationship between the two. After restrictions eased, the band reunited to bring this music to life, it is recommended for fans of Torche, Hum, and The Fucking Champs.

Listen to "Stratolith" via its premiere on Doomed & Stoned HERE.

"Retrogradient" is due out on November 10, 2023, and is available for pre-order at

Track Listing:
1. Retrogradient - 3:16
2. Perihelion - 4:29
3. Terrakinetic - 4:44
4. Lunambulant - 4:04
5. Glaciovore - 2:57
6. Calderasure - 4:09
7. Senescence - 4:49
8. Stratolith - 5:06
9. Deorbit - 6:54
Album Length: 40:32