| 20 Jul 2024
George Ergatoudis joins Spotify UK as its first 'head of content programming'

MUMBAI: Spotify UK announced its first ‘head of content programming’ in George Ergatoudis. He will join the streaming company in March next year. The head honcho was a part of BBC Radio 1 as its head of music during his second stint at Radio 1. Ergatoudis, who joined the station in 1997, was a part of BBC Radio 1 for almost 20 years. He had earlier joined BBC Radio 1 as a producer in 1990 before moving on to Kiss FM.

The radio to streaming shift is an exciting one for Ergatoudis, and he said, “I am leaving BBC Radio 1, the world’s greatest music radio station, to join the world’s leading digital music service and I couldn’t be more excited.”

Ergatoudis was made head of music at Radio 1 about 10 years ago, where he also worked as head of Radio 1 Xtra’s music policy. Ergatoudis has also worked on programmes for Kiss FM (1991-1997). He won a Sony Gold Award for producing Steve Jackson’s breakfast show during his tenure at the FM station.

Ben Cooper, controller of BBC Radio 1 and 1Xtra, said, “Over the past decade, George has been a key part of Radio 1’s discovery of new music for young audiences and has continued to support British artists, giving them a platform for success.”

Nick Holmstén, Spotify's Global Head of Content Programming, said, “George is one of the most well-known and well respected figures in the British music industry, and we are enormously proud and excited to have him join us at Spotify. His gifts for music curation and identifying exciting new talent are second to none, and I can think of no one better to help Spotify introduce music fans to a wealth of new music and a new generation of artists that they are going to love.”

In February, presenter Zane Lowe moved from BBC Radio 1 to become the face of Apple Music’s Beats 1 station. Four other producers had moved out along with Lowe. Ergatoudis, who regularly appears on music industry panels, has served as a judge on the prestigious Mercury Prize since 2007.