| 29 Feb 2024
Over 125 AIR studios being digitised all over the country

NEW DELHI: 98 All India Radio (AIR) studios are being digitised across 29 states and seven union territories. In addition to this another 29 studios in eighteen states have been cleared for digitisation in the 12th Five Year Plan.

Prasar Bharati sources said there is no approved scheme at present to enhance the transmission capacity of existing Low Power Transmitter of AIR.

The 98 include three in Delhi at Broadcasting House, New Broadcasting House, and the AIR National Channel.

Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra top the list with nine stations being digitised in each of them. Tamil Nadu will have seven of its stations being digitsed, while Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan will have six stations digitised. Andhra Pradesh and Assam will have four of their stations being digitised.

Recently All India Radio FM had planned an expansion at 118 places besides eight FM broadcasting set ups along the Indo-Nepal border, besides replacement of old FM transmitters at 77 locations and six MW transmitters by FM Transmitters.

The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs has approved the proposal of the Information and Broadcasting Ministry regarding the 12th Plan scheme of All India Radio (AIR) and Doordarshan "Broadcasting Infrastructure and Network Development" at a cost of Rs 3500 crore.