| 16 Jul 2024
Over 235 FM radio channels apply to migrate from Phase II to Phase III

New Delhi: A total of 236 FM radio channels operating in different cities have sought permission to migrate from Phase II to Phase III, according to final figures revealed in Parliament.

These include 44 Big FM channels of Reliance Broadcasting, 35 Radio Mirchi channels of Entertainment Network India Ltd, 23 channels of South Asia FM Ltd, 20 channels of Music Broadcast Ltd, 18 channels of Kal Radio, 17 channels of D B Corp and 10 of Skyline Radio.

Other applicants who have applied are Shri Puran Multimedia Ltd (8); Next Radio Ltd (7); Mathrubhumi Printing and Publishing, Malayala Manorama Co Ltd, HT Media, and Rajasthan Patrika (4 each); TV Today, Sun TV Network (3 each); Neutral Broadcasting, Pudhari Publication Pvt Ltd, PCM Cement Concrete, Eastern Media, and India Radio Ventures (2 each), and Udaya FM Pvt Ltd, Syntech Infotainment Pvt Ltd, Raneka Fincom Pvt Ltd, Purvy Broadcasting, Muthoot, ITM Software, India FM Radio, Hitz (Kolkata), HT Music and Entertainment, Gwalior Farms Ltd, Clear Radio, Digital Radio (Kolkata), Digital Radio (Mumbai), Digital Radio (Delhi), and Ananda Offset (one each).

Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting Rajyavardhan Rathore said the Government had on 21 January this year amended para 31 of FM Phase-III policy guidelines of 25 July, 2011 in order to provide option to existing private FM operators of FM Phase-II to migrate to FM Phase-III.