| 25 Sep 2023
Javed Akhtar leads the jury panel for 8th Mirchi Music Awards

MUMBAI: One of the country's leading private FM radio broadcaster - Radio Mirchi - will host its annual music awards for the 8th consecutive year. The 8th edition will celebrate and honour Bollywood's best musicians from the year 2015.

Several noted musicians, filmmakers and songwriters were invited as part of the jury panel. Led by the veteran Javed Akhtar, the panel also included Udit Narayan who was lately honoured with Padma Bhushan, director Ramesh Sippy, singer Kavita Krishnamurthy, music director Anu Malik, lyrcisit Prasoon Joshi among many others. Louiz Banks, Bappi Lahiri, Roop Kumar Rathod, Madhur Bhandarkar, Sudhir Mishra, Subhash Ghai are also part of the panel.

The panel will decide 'the best of the best' across genres from the nominations of several categories. The nominations would be announced on Saturday, whereas the award ceremony will be held on 29 January.

Talking on his association, Javed Akhtar, Jury Chairperson, said, “I have been associated with the Mirchi Music Awards for many years. The music industry is witnessing an emergence of talent year on year. Each and every entry is unique and I wish the nominees the very best.”

Announcing the 8th edition, Prashant Panday, CEO, Radio Mirchi said, “The stature that Mirchi Music Awards has got is due to the jury that works tirelessly to select the best music of the year. For Mirchi, this is a tribute to the talented music industry. As we say “Music ko Mirchi ka salaam”".

The award show telecast on TV last year was watched by more than five crore people all over India!