| 22 Feb 2024
CBFC reconstituted with majority from film and theatre field

NEW DELHI: After bringing in adman and lyricist Prasoon Joshi and showing filmmaker Pahlaj Nihalani, the Central Board of Film Certification has been reconstituted with entry among others of actress Vidya Balan and renowned filmmaker T S Nagabharana.

The twelve members brought in include filmmaker and Padma Shri recipient Naresh Chandra Lal from Andaman and Nicobar Islands known for his film Gandhi – the Mahatma which spread the message of clean environment and cleanliness, and renowned director Vivek Agnihotri.

An official announcement said the Board was being reconstituted under section 3(1) of the Cinematograph Act 1952 read with rule 3 of the Cinematograph (Certification) Rules 1983.
The new members join with immediatt effect for a period of three years or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

The others include Tamil and Telugu actresses Gautami Tadimalla and Jeevitha Rajasekhar; Bharatya Janata Party activist and actress Vani Tripati Tikoo; theatre director Waman Kendre who has headed the National School of Drama in Delhi; and film and television dialogue writer Mihir Bhuta.
Renowned Shillong-based author and concert pianist Neil Herbert Nongkynrih; Padma Shri awardee and Hindi author Narendra Kohli; and ideologue of Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh Ramesh Patange who edits the Marathi weekly ‘Vivek' have also been appointed to the Board.