Comments (0)
Review |  11 Apr 2015 15:20 |  By RnMTeam

'Mr. X' a mediocre album

Label: Sony Music

Lyricists: Mohnish Raza, Manoj Muntashir, Abhendra Kumar Upadhyay

Singers: Arijit Singh, Palak Muchhal, Mili Nair, Ankit Tiwari

Composers: Jeet Gannguli, Ankit Tiwari

After the disastrous attempt of producing a sci-fi thriller, ‘Creature 3D’ in 2014, the Bhatt camp once again has come out with another film of the same genre- ‘Mr X’. The movie features Emraan Hashmi, Amyra Dastur and Arunoday Singh. Ankit Tiwari had composed three songs for the album and a couple of tracks have been composed by Jeet Gannguli. presents to you the music review of the album.

Tu Jo Hain:

Repeated tunes coupled with extreme melancholy and a tinge of laziness in the vocals is the best way to describe this song. The track reminds you of ‘Tu Hai Ke Nahi’ from the film ‘Roy’. We love Tiwari, but it is about time that he started composing fresher melodies. The track is a disappointment and makes you want to skip it. ‘Tu Jo Hain’ is penned by Abhendra Kumar Upadhyay.

Mr X

The film’s title track starts with the amazing vocals of Mili Nair. Before you go wondering who she is, remember the song ‘Meethi Boliyaan’ from ‘Kai Po Che!’? Coming back to ‘Mr X’, the onus of the vocals is taken over by Mahesh Bhatt. While the song does need a baritone voice, Bhatt’s tone gives off mixed feelings, not just about the track but also the vocals. ‘Mr X’ is composed by Jeet Gannguli and is penned by Rashmi Singh.

Saad Shukraana:

Saad Shukraana is composed and sung by Tiwari, and is once again a repetition of what he has composed in the past. Tiwari begins the song well with acoustic guitars, but it later turns into a mess. The track fails to impress due to the repeated melodies.

Alif Se:

Sung by Tiwari and Neeti Mohan, ‘Alif Se’ is not great but not that bad. Though Mohan’s vocals are a little relief from the monotony of Tiwari’s, there is nothing much that really stands out. Composer Tiwari has tried experimenting with the track by picking up the pace a little, but it does not go well.

Teri Khushboo:   

‘Citylights’ trio- Arijit Singh, Jeet Gannguli and Rashmi Singh come together once again for the track ‘Teri Khushboo’. It is a gloomy track that talks about getting back to life despite the difficulties. The song has male and female versions. The latter is crooned by Palak Muchhal, and both versions are good.

Overall, barring the song ‘Teri Khushboo’ there is not much to look forward to in this soundtrack album. The Bhatt camp usually comes up with good music, but this time it does not seemed to have worked. Maybe the film will fare better at impressing audiences.

'Mr X' releases on 17 April 2015.